Systems Development Life Cycle

The systems development life cycle is a project management technique that divides complex projects into smaller, more easily managed segments or phases. Segmenting projects allows managers to verify the successful completion of project phases before allocating resources to subsequent phases.

Software development projects typically include initiation, planning, design, development, testing, implementation, and maintenance phases. However, the phases may be divided differently depending on the organization involved. For example, initial project activities might be designated as request, requirements-definition, and planning phases, or initiation, concept-development, and planning phases. End users of the system under development should be involved in reviewing the output of each phase to ensure the system is being built to deliver the needed functionality.

Note: Examiners should focus their assessments of development, acquisition, and maintenance activities on the effectiveness of an organization's project management techniques. Reviews should be centered on ensuring the depth, quality, and sophistication of a project management technique are commensurate with the characteristics and risks of the project under review.


Previous Section
Development Standards
Next Section
Initiation Phase